29th

 

Snoop Dogg Celebrates Merry Jane Launch During His Birthday Party

Chris Brown, Daz Dillinger, and more attend Snoop Dogg’s birthday party and Merry Jane launch.

Several weeks ago, it was reported that Long Beach, California rapper Snoop Doggand media entrepreneur Ted Chung joined forces to launch MerryJane.com, a marijuana-centric online platform.

And during his birthday celebration earlier this week, Snoop celebrated both his 44th birthday and the launch of MerryJane.com.

Hip Hop Wired reports that the festivities took place at the Moonlight Rollerway skating rink in Glendale, California.

The dual celebration was attended by the likes of Chris Brown, Zendaya, Warren G, Ty Dolla $ign, and Daz Dillinger. Snoop’s children were also reportedly in attendance.

In September, both Snoop Dogg and MerryJane.com co-founder Ted Chung, appeared at TechCrunch Disrupt to discuss their latest endeavor.

“We’re providing the industry with something that’s void right now,” Snoop Dogg said during TechCrunch Disrupt. “We are the information hotline for cannabis. We are what’s missing.”

Prior to this month’s launch of MerryJane.com, users were able to test out the site during its beta rounds.

Pictures from Tuesday’s celebration can be found below (via Hip Hop Wired).

HOMENEWSSINGLESVIDEOSREVIEWSINTERVIEWSEDITORIALSRELEASESTICKETSSnoop Dogg’s Son, Cordell Broadus, Admits Playing Football For Father’s Approval

The former wide receiver shared his story on his father’s birthday.

After leaving the UCLA football team in August, Cordell Broadus, who is Snoop Dogg‘s son, took to Instagram to explain his relationship with the sport. Broadus made the post on his father’s birthday yesterday (October 20).

“I played football for my father because I thought that was the only way he would love me & be apart of my life,” he says in the caption for a picture of him in a football uniform with his father. “It took me 12 years to realize he loves Cordell Broadus the person not Cordell Broadus the football player. The best day of my life was when I heard those exact words; I love you dad hope you have a great birthday.”

Broadus was a four-star wide receiver recruit who chose the Bruins over Southern California and Arizona State. He is reportedly attending classes at UCLA.

HOMENEWSSINGLESVIDEOSREVIEWSINTERVIEWSEDITORIALSRELEASESTICKETS

Wale: Meek Mill “Brought A Pencil To A Gun Fight” In Drake Feud; Meek Mill Respond

UPDATE: Maybach Music Group “not the unit we once was,” according to Wale.

Meek Mill has responded to Wale’s comments about Meek Mill’s rift with Drake.

“Niggas b doing all this to drop a new record gossiping about they hoe ass feelings and they personal life because they miserable and nobody don’t rock wit them!” Meek Mill writes on Instagram. “Really stay away from me Fam! U not MMG NOMORE! This why u can’t get my number you a hoe! ???? and u dead cracked right now @wale foh nuttttt! I wasn’t even mad at you Fam u got some real issues with yaself and you jealous! Broke rapper! This my last time I think addressing shit on the Internet …. But if I don’t talk about it one of you dudes gone get hurt speaking my name like it’s sweet! Y’all niggas gone stop mentioning my name like it ain’t no consequences…. I’m off this internet! I don’t speak on Mmg in interviews unless it’s good! U a clown … We don’t wanna hear you nomore Fam! Go jump off a roof like u been tryna do chump! He not MMG IM MAKING THAT CALL … He been tryna call me saying Rozay owe us money… He don’t owe me shit and if he do I’ll get it later …. Go that away!”

During an interview with young black stars magazine, Wale offered his thoughts on the now-notorious feud between fellow Maybach Music Group rapper Meek Mill and Drake.

According to Wale, who once feuded with Meek Mill after he was called out on Twitter last year, Meek wasn’t prepared for such a feud. Wale went on to compare Meek feuding with Drake to the Philly lyricist bringing “a pencil to a gun fight.”

“I just feel like, and this is me speaking as someone who has been in the industry for a long time, I honestly feel like [Meek] brought a pencil to a gun fight…You can’t compete with somebody who has those types of relationship,” Wale said, according toXXLMag.com. “I’m telling everyone who thought Meek lost just off the strength of losing, it doesn’t matter what he made, he could have made ‘Ether 3.0’, the opinions of the people would have been that of the kid from Toronto waxed him. Drake went to Apple and my man went to Funk Flex–and there’s nothing wrong with Flex–but we talking about Apple, breh. They heard Drake’s joints all around the world.”

In regards to the status of things on the home-front, the Rick Ross-founded Maybach Music Group, Wale says they aren’t the unit they once were. In addition to Wale, other artists currently on the Maybach Music Group roster include Meek Mill, Stalley, French Montana, Omarion, and Gunplay.

“We’re not the unit we once was,” he said. “I’m not gonna lie to you. It doesn’t mean we’re not cool, but every one has gotta do what they gotta do…There’s people that Meek Mill hangs out with a lot that he knows I don’t bang with. And that’s fine, I don’t ask nobody to get in my beefs, it’s not a problem, it’s rap, there’s no bloodshed going on out here.”

Banky W Shares Touching Story In Birthday Tribute To Segun Demuren

In a birthday tribute to co-CEO of E.M.E Records, Segun Demuren, Banky talked about how Segun helped him when he hit rock bottom and was thinking of giving up. Quite touching. Read below…

“About @segundemuren: The morning of Jan 1st 2009 was one of the worst of my life. I went to Church the night before to pray in the new year… and there I poured my heart out to God. You see, i moved back to Lag on Feb 14th 08. It was a tough decision quitting my well-paid engineering job in nyc and moving back, but I felt incomplete and unfulfilled. That decision however, led to a tough year. I had gained some small popularity in music, but fame comes way before fortune in my line of work.
So yes there were videos on tv, but I was flat out broke. I’d spent all my savings on my music business.. I was driving a beat down car that broke down on every possible major road in Lagos, and I had resorted to “borrowing” 5k from my manager weekly, to fuel my car and buy recharge cards. I’d started second guessing my decision. Shld I have moved back at all? Shld I have listened to folks and stayed in nyc? It was hard. I wasn’t getting any show bookings, infact Segun & I used to show up to events wayyy early just to make sure we could get inside, and times without number we wld beg & plead to get 5 mins to perform on shows only to get turned down. I was frustrated. Why wasn’t my music working here? Why couldnt ppl see what we saw? Maybe I wasnt meant to be here? And then after church that morning, I got accosted by armed robbers, driven around on the joy-ride-from-hell, roughed up, and robbed of everything on me. Phones, money, jewelry, ipod, hat, shoes, u name it. They kept threatening to shoot me, but I just kept praying psalm 91 and somehow I made it home to Segun’s house in one piece. And while I was grateful to be alive, I sunk into further depression. For a week plus I wouldn’t leave my room. I felt like my whole world had come crashing down, and like I had nothing to show for all my effort and prayers. And then Segun walked into my room and said “hey bro.. I know it’s really bad right now. But the good news is, this is rock bottom. U have hit it, and ur still alive. It can only get better from here, but U can’t let it defeat U. U gotta get up, dust it off, and channel all that nervous energy into making music again!!” I was in shock.. 

I was in shock. How did he expect me to just shake everything off just like that? My mental state was a total mess. I didn’t have a penny to even pay for the studio time, and even my car had been bashed. I said “bro even if I want to record, how would I pay for it?” He asked who I’d wanna work with and I said Cobhams. He asked me to find out how much it would cost… I did. The next day he walked into my room with the entire amount in full that he had borrowed from someone. Plus extra for cab fare. 

I paid for the Cobhams sessions, and the very first song we created was “Strong Ting”.. till date one of my biggest hits in Africa. The requests for performances started coming.. I started actually receiving airplay. Ppl finally started understanding me and my music, and better yet, they ACTUALLY liked it! My life changed from that moment and so did my finances. 

God has used Segun to guide, direct, help, support and save me on too many occasions. I want to wish my big brother and role model a veryyyy happy birthday, and pray for him that he and his family will never know lack in Jesus name. For the seeds of kindness, love and support he has sown in my life and many others, may God bless him and every generation born of him. I love you forever, and I look up to you. 

I shared this particular story because I also want to encourage y’all. I know life can be hard and harsh, but don’t give up hope after the darkest of nights, because your morning is right around the corner.

 

 

Beyonce Calls Nicki Minaj “The Rap Queen” In “Darling Nicki” Tribute

“I met this girl named Nicki, I guess you could say she was the rap queen,” Beyonce sings.

Beyoncé yesterday released “Darling Nicki (Minaj),” a tribute dedicated to the Young Money rapper.

During the short homage piece, which is an adaptation of Prince’s Purple Rain track “Darling Nikki,” Beyoncé calls Minaj the “the rap queen.”

“I met this girl named Nicki, I guess you could say she was the rap queen,” Beyoncé sings. “I met her in the studio lobby, but her booty looked bigger in the magazines / She said, ‘B will you jump on this song of mine?’ / How could I resist when I heard little Nicki rhyme?”

Erykah Badu Announces “But You Caint Use My Phone” Mixtape

“I’m writing all the time,” Erykah Badu says, “but recently I got the bug back.”

Erykah Badu’s “Hotline Bling But You Caint Use My Phone Mix” cover of Drake’s “Hotling Bling” will appear on the singer’s forthcoming mixtape, according to Noisey.

But You Caint Use My Phone will be released next week and is named after a lyric fromthe singer’s 1997 single “Tyrone.”

Badu says that even though she hasn’t released an album in several years that’s she’s been working on new material.

“I just kinda live and experience,” she says during the Noisey interview. “I’m writing all the time, but recently I got the bug back. When it comes, it comes, and I can’t force it, but recently I got it back with ‘Hotline Bling’ and all the other things I’ve been experimenting with.”

The Texas artist is also premiering “Live Nudity,” her first-ever one-woman improv show, at Dallas’s Black Academy of Arts and Letters this week. She says that despite a heavy touring schedule during the last 18 years, she still isn’t completely comfortable on stage.

“The stage is my main place, but being by myself there… I don’t know why that stresses me out, but it does,” she says. “I’m sure that nervous energy will turn into something really honest that I’ll end up sharing. But I don’t know what’ll happen, so we’ll see.”

Halle Berry, Olivier Martinez Divorcing After Two Years of Marriage:

Halle Berry has filed for divorce from her husband, Olivier Martinez, after two years of marriage. The couple announced their split in a joint statement to young black stars magazine on Tuesday, Oct. 27.

“It is with a heavy heart that we have come to the decision to divorce,” they told YBSM. “We move forward with love and respect for one another and the shared focus for what is best for our son. We wish each other nothing but happiness in life, and we hope that you respect our, and most importantly our children’s privacy, as we go through this difficult period.”

According to TMZ, the Oscar-winning actress cited irreconcilable differences in her divorce documents.

Berry, 49, and the French actor, 49, first met on the set of Dark Tide in 2010, and secretly got engaged in 2011.

YBSM brook the news of their engagement  in January 2012, and the gorgeous pair came togetheras couples in july 2013, at the Chateau des Conde in Vallery, France.

They share a 2-year-old son, Maceo. Berry is also mom to her 6-year-old daughter, Nahla, whom she shares with her ex Gabriel Aubry.

This will be the third divorce for Berry, who was previously married to baseball player David Justice from 1993 to 1997, and to R&B singer Eric Benet from 2001 to 2005. While she said she would never get married again in the interim, Berry had a change of heart about marrying.

“Who knew? I swore marriage off, right?” she told YBSM in April 2012. “Never say never, people!”

 

 

 

TICKETS

new SINGLES

Date Artist Title Rating
Oct 29 BeatKing 4AM
Oct 29 August Alsina Song Cry
Oct 29 Alessia Cara Wild Things
Oct 28 Guilty Simpson Greatness 4.08
Oct 28 Sheek Louch f. Jadakiss Sucka Free 2.00
Oct 28 Katie Got Bandz f. Plies Juice Got Me Loose
Oct 28 Lyrica Anderson f. YG & The Game Buzzin
Oct 28 Skeme Cake
Oct 28 Rick Ross Takes On Future’s Stick Talk 0.33
Oct 28 Vic Mensa Married To The King Freestyle
Oct 28 Ace Hood Mood
Oct 28 Puff Daddy f. Pharrell Williams Finna Get Loose (Ted Smooth Remix)
Oct 27 Chance The Rapper f. Saba Angels 2.71
Oct 27 A Tribe Called Quest f. Cee-Lo Footprints 0.00
Oct 27 AZ f. Soshy Back To Myself 1.50
Oct 27 Young Juve f. Mannie Fresh & Lil Wayne Do Yo Thang (Remix) 0.00
Oct 27 Snoop Dogg f. Busta Rhymes & Stresmatic Powder On My Clothes 1.67
Oct 27 Big K.R.I.T. & Rapsody Guillotine Flow [prod. 9th Wonder] 0.00
Oct 27 Skeme Who I Came With
Oct 27 TYP-ILL Let Em Talk [Prod. Statik Selektah] 0.20
Oct 27 Quentin Miller Untitled… 0.11
Oct 27 Tyga Dope’d Up
Oct 26 Jeezy Nov. 13th (Freestyle)
Oct 26 Young Thug Phoenix 1.00
Oct 26 Rick Ross White Iverson (Remix) 0.00
Oct 26 French Montana f. Diddy First Time (Intro) 2.50
Oct 26 Daz N Snoop f. Shon La Won Sho You Right [Prod. DaM-FunK]
Oct 26 Ja Rule Tell Your Friends (Remix) 0.60
Oct 26 Pizzle f. D. Bridge Whoa, Whoa
Oct 26 Josh Sallee f. K.A.A.N. AWAYO
Oct 25 Sean Smart f. RahRah The Savage & Mic Kellogg Provide 5.00
Oct 25 Mr. Muthafuckin eXquire LiveForever (EP) 2.00
Oct 25 Chino XL Hush 3.55
Oct 25 CDS Hotline Bling 1.67
Oct 25 DP Wait [Prod. Ducko McFli]
Oct 25 Lucki Eck$ FREEWAVE (EP)
Oct 24 ShaqIsDope Stay Focused
Oct 24 RED f. Trapo & Ra’Shaun Drug Of Choice
Oct 24 Hit-Boy f. James Fauntleroy That’s What I Get
Oct 24 Joyner Lucas f. Busta Rhymes Jumanji
Oct 24 J Dilla Dillatronic 34 1.67
Oct 23 DJ Kay Slay f. Lloyd Banks The Remainder 2.04

Quote of the week

We should all try to deal and handle our problems cause if the earth was perfect it could have been like heaven.

Contact…..youngblackstarsmagazine@yahoo.com

Twitter…..@youngblackstar6

Leave a comment